Add the ability to use fields in related records in PDF

Hi,

I’ve created a couple of custom modules Candidate and Courses.
and defined one to many relationship Candidate(1) ==>(*) Courses
now i want to create a PDF template based on Candidate and all associated Courses fields.

From HTML point of view (from where we create pdf) I would like to add something like

Course1.fieldA
Course2.fieldA
for each Course associated.

When I request the pdf creation from a Candidate (something like generate letter) I would like to load all courses associated
and add these fields in the final template automatically. Now:

1. Where and How I can load all associated courses for Candidate instance?
  2. Where and How I can insert those values in a final template?

I’m a very beginner, but for me is sufficient to know the right place to find Candidate Bean instance, load all associated Courses instance and found the
right place to insert these values.

Regards,

Mario

This will be very hard if you are beginner and there is too much involved to explain it all here. Hopefully what I have written below will be of some help.

http://developer.sugarcrm.com/2012/03/23/howto-using-the-bean-instead-of-sql-all-the-time/

http://developer.sugarcrm.com/2011/02/23/howto-using-get_linked_beans-method-to-grab-related-records/

The basic steps you will have to carry out:

Create a custom a copy of generatePdf.php here:

custom/modules/AOS_PDF_Templates/generatePdf.php

Rename the copy MyCustomPdf.php

Then create a custom button on your custom module that calls the functions in your custom copy of MyCustomPdf.php.
(this will involve creating a custom controller and adding a custom action that includes MyCustomPdf.php)

edit MyCustomPdf.php to work with the fields in your custom module. (this this would involved getting the Candidate instance and then getting all the linked courses via the get_linked_beans method or an sql query).

Create custom/modules/AOS_PDF_Templates/views/view.edit.php