Extending SuiteCRM to add another distribution method algorithm

Hello All,
I am new to SuiteCRM development but do have some experience in building software.

Environment:
SuiteCRM version > 7.11.5
PHP - 7.2

I am trying to implement a new distribution method algorithm (other than the ones that exists).

I have looked and debugged the code to understand the following:

1. Will need to create a field in the InboundEmail detail and edit view pages to add the new distribution method.
  2. The cronjob & scheduler fires the “Check Inbound Mailboxes” calling into function:pollMonitoredInboxesAOP. This actual distribution method & assignment to the user is done in AOPAssignManager.php.

So as per my understanding, most of my changes are going to localized to AOPAssignManager.php file.

Anyways, here are my questions:

1. Going through the documentation available, I have not found any information about “how-to” extend the distribution methods and keep it upgrade-proof. The modifications needs to be implemented mostly in AOPAssignManager.php and _AddJobsHere.php.
    Is there an upgrade proof way of extending the distribution method? If not, your “guru-level” recommendations of “how-to” implement, deploy and manage this will help.
  2. There are 2 functions, pollMonitoredInboxes and pollMonitoredInboxesAOP. Why use pollMonitoredInboxesAOP from the scheduler job instead of pollMonitoredInboxes?

Please do let me know if you need any more information.
Thanks in advance.

Hi, @iamamoron42

Maybe a nice preliminary question is: which distribution mechanism are you implementing? Do you think it is generic enough to be of interest to other people?

If so, you might be better off implementing this as a change to core, and contributing it on GitHub. This would avoid the hassle of looking for upgrade-safe mechanisms (which I suspect might not be too easy in this case)…

1 Like

Thank you, @pgr,

Well, the distribution mechanism is as follows: