Very odd error - .htaccess file causing user profiles to be mixed up

Yesterday I had a number of issues with our installation whereby when a user logs in they get another users profile. Exploring this I think they are getting the profile of any user who last logged in, (but I cannot be sure).

I assumed this was a database corruption so I restored from a backup but the problem remains.

If I remove the .htaccess file it all seems to work OK again however if I then rebuild the .htaccess file from the admin section the problem returns again.

I think this might be a wider php/mySQL issue on the server or this could also be a red herring.

The permissions look correct.

I am running 7.8.8 on Linux server, cPanel, php5.6, mySQL v.5.6 and Litespeed server.

Has anyone experienced this before or can shed any light on what might have happened to our server configurations?

Please can someone advise on how we correct this? I’m not a coder so this is way beyond my expertise.

I appreciate any input.

Many thanks,

In Admin / Diagnostic, download phpinfo file and check which path your PH is using for session.save_path

Then check that path in your file system, sometimes people find it has thousands of old files and Linux starts confusing itself. It could also have some other kind of file corrution. You can clear the session that dir if necessary (it should only break ongoing sessions, nothing else), just do it after work hours.

You can also try a few more repairs from Admin / Repairs, and all sorts of cache clearings you can find.

Hi,

First of all many thanks for your reply, I really appreciate your help.

I have run the diagnostic and the session.save_path in the PHPinfo file reads this - /var/cpanel/php/sessions/ea-php56.

In the top level folder for this installation I have a user.ini file which has the following:-

; cPanel-generated php ini directives, do not edit
; Manual editing of this file may result in unexpected behavior.