basics of importing accounts/contacts/users

Hello all,
I’m brand new to SuiteCRM. Indeed, I’m new to CRMs in general. I have it running on a Debian server, using MySQL and Nginx in case that matters. I’m on version 7.9.6.

Right now, I’m getting used to things as I work with my boss to evaluate SuiteCRM and see if it’s a good fit for the company. The task I’ve just been given is to take records from our AS400 and import them, then merge them daily, into SuiteCRM. I have a long list of customer accounts which I have to turn into accounts with one or more contacts per account, a list of sales reps I have to turn into users, and relationships between them I have to automatically create. I’ve so far come up with the following questions:

• How can I create links between records, existing or imported? Assigning users to own accounts or contacts, making a contact be contained in an account, that kind of thing?
  • Once I know what I’m doing, will I be able to automate this whole process? I’d like to query the 400, generate a file or pass some JSON into a program, and update everything once a day or so.

I know more questions will come up, but that’s it for now. The manual explains things pretty well, but it doesn’t mention automation or connecting records to those in other modules. Thanks for any help.

For your data design, this should help:

https://pgorod.github.io/Concepts-Accounts-Contacts/

For learning how to automate, check out Jim Mackin’s eBook “SuiteCRM for Developers”.

There are a few different approaches, using PHP and “beans” to import intelligently, or directly writing into the database with SQL, or preparing things in Excel/Calc and then importing through the UI.

Thanks. Your blog is proving quite informative.